Index > Request for Enhancements > Movement and the Camera; Targeting and Clicking

Movement and the Camera; Targeting and Clicking

Author Post
lepsylentil (These are my first suggestions so I've tried to keep them simple and doable, but I'm not a programmer and have no idea how difficult these would be to implement practically. I'm mostly going for things that would make general play go more smoothly.)

How easy/difficult would it be to change the movement so that A and D turn, while Q and E strafe? I've found the way the characters move somewhat unnatural, and it would also possibly ease up on some of the stresses of the very-quick mouse pointer.

Would it be possible to have an option for the camera rotate without your character also turning? Probably only 180 degrees in front of you, but just to make it easier to see who is where in a room without the avatar turning back and forth constantly. I understand that 3rd person is beyond the scope of the project, wasn't sure how hard or easy this would be.

(Quick addition that I love the differing movement mechanics for horse and carriage, even if they are a little tricky to master at first - driving being a little challenging is fun to me!)

(Second quick addition - I see that a request for an auto-walk button has already been made, and I will second that, particularly to save my shoulders when I'm going long distances exploring the world!)

For targeting and clicking, one thing I've noticed is that once you've targeted someone, the only way to remove them is to target someone or something else. Would it be possible to add an option where you could click away, or some other button that would make your target open again? Mostly in case of using items, but also for keeping the UI tidy.
Posted 3 months ago
Doug